The George Prince of Wales Cup

In the 116 years of its existence, the Cup up to 2024 has been awarded 98 times to 71 Cobs.

TI	nis is the information italics	Information extracted from the books of Dr Wynne Davies MBE*		
Year	Name of Cob engraved	Address of Owner	Name of Owner(s)	The names of these winning cobs are NOT engraved on the Cup
1908		Lovesgrove farm NR Aberystwyth	Mr H P Edwards	Pride of the Hills
1909		Cwmgwenin, Lampeter	Mr Evan Davies	High Stepping Gambler II
1910		35 Station Road, Llanelly	Messrs Thomas Morgan & Son	Groten Ddu
1911		Llwyn Stud Farm, Llanfyllin	Mr J Marshall Dugdale	Llwyn Flashlight II
1912		Manoravon, Llandilo	Mr Evan Jones	Manoravon Flyer
1913		Meifod, Welshpool	Messrs HM & HW Jones	King Flyer
1914		Mathyrafal	Messrs HM & HW Jones	King Flyer
1915	WW!			
1916	WW!			
1917	WW!			
1918	WW!			
1919	WW!			
1920	No show			
1921	No show			
1922		Lampeter	Messrs Thomas Davies & Co	Pontfaen Lady Model
1923		Lampeter	Messrs Thomas Davies & Co	Pontfaen Lady Model
1924		Penuwch, Llanid Road	David Rees	Mathrafal Brenin
1925		Penuwch, Llanid Road	David Rees	Mathrafal Brenin
1926		Mathrafal. Meifod. Mont	H Meyrick Jones	Mathrafal Eiddwen
1927		Mathrafal, Meifod, Mont	H Meyrick Jones	Mathrafal Eiddwen
1928		Pant Llandedewi, Brefi, Cards	J Davies & Sons	Pant Grey Star
1929		Mathrafal, Meifod, Mont	H Meyrick Jones	Mathrafal Eiddwen
1930		Mathrafal, Meifod, Mont	H Meyrick Jones	Mathrafal Eiddwen
1931		Bryngwyn. Aberayron, Cards	Mr John Richards	Llethi Valiant
1932		Hereford Street, Presteigne, Rads	George Gittins	Caersenddfan Stepping Flyer
1933		Myrtle Hill, Llechryd, Cards	Tom James	Myrtle Welsh Flyer

				ı
1934		Llandudno	John Jones & Sons	Craven Cymro
1935		Petre Brain, Llandewi Brefi, Treganon, Cards	J O Davies	Dewi Black Bess
1936		Dewi Well, Llandewi Brefi, Treganon, Cards	J D Evans	Teifi of Hercws
1937		Dewi Well, Llandewi Brefi, Treganon, Cards	J D Evans	Teifi of Hercws
1938	No show	because RASE was beir	ng held in Cardiff	
1939		Myrtle Hill, Llechryd, Cards	Tom James	Myrtle Welsh Flyer
1940	WW2			
1941	WW2			
1942	WW2			
1943	WW2			
1944	WW2			
1945	WW2			
1946	WW2			
1947		Lampeter, Cards	David Lloyd and Son	Meiarth Welsh Maid
1948	Petrol Rationing			
1949		Lampeter, Cards	David Lloyd and Son	Meiarth Welsh Maid
1950		Lampeter, Cards	David Lloyd and Son	Meiarth Welsh Maid
1951		Rhydlas Uchaf, Llanrhystyd, Cards	John Hughes	Pentre Eiddwen Comet
1952		Tondu, Nr Bridgend	E Dillwyn Richards	Mathrafal
1953		Derwenfawr, Crugybar, Llanwrda	E Roscoe Lloyd	Dewi Rosina
1954		Lampeter, Cards	David Lloyd and Son	Meiarth Welsh Maid
1955			J H Davies	Teify Welsh Maid
1956	Pentre Eiddwen Comet		John Hughes	
1957	Princess		T B J Evans	
1958	Parc Lady		Messrs D O Morgan & Sons	
1959	Parc Lady		Messrs D O Morgan & Sons	
1960	Parc Lady		Messrs D O Morgan & Sons	
1961	Parc Lady		Messrs D O Morgan & Sons	
1962	Tyhen Mattie		W L Lloyd Davies's	
1963	Tyngwndwn Cream Boy		Mr E Price	
1964	Llanarth Brummell		Miss A Wheatcroft	
1965	Pentre Eiddwen's Doll		Dr Arwyn Williams's	
1966	Derwen Rosina		E Roscoe Lloyd's	
1967	Derwen Rosina		E R Lloyd's	
1968	Derwen Rosina		E Roscoe Lloyd's	
1969	Tyhen Comet		John Hughes	
				-

1970 Brenin Dafydd		Jones Bros	
1971 Parc Rachel		S D Morgan	
1972 Parc Rachel	This entry is inscribed	S D Morgan	
1072 Nobo Block Magic	twice		
1973 Nebo Black Magic		E Roscoe Lloyd & Son Llanarth Stud & Farms	
1974 Llanarth Flying Comet			
1975 Parc Rachel		S D Morgan	
1976 Llanarth Flying Comet		Llanarth Stud (UCW)	Lieu entie Eleien Oenest
1977		Llanarth Stud (UCW)	Llanarth Flying Comet
1978 Llanarth Flying Comet		Llanarth Stud	
1979 Ffoslas Black Lady		Mr & Mrs W J Evans	
1980 Ffoslas Flying Rocket		Miss H H Jones	
1981 Derwen Rosinda		E Roscoe Lloyd & Son	
1982 Cyttir Telynor		Messrs Jones Bros	
1983 Derwen Princess		E Roscoe Lloyd & Son	
1984 Derwen Princess		E Roscoe Lloyd & Son	
1985 Derwen Viscountess		Mr & Mrs D J Haak	
1986 Derwen Groten Goch		Mr & Mrs I J R Lloyd & Sons	
1987 Cyttir Telynor		Msrs Jones Bros, Gwyn Jones	
1988 Nebo Daniel		Nebo Stud (Mr & Mrs W G Jones)	
1989 Derwen Dameg		Mr & Mrs I J R Lloyd & Sons	
1990 Derwen Groten Goch		Mr & Mrs I J R Lloyd & Sons	
1991 Pantanamlwg Red Fox		E J Evans	
1992 Derwen Groten Goch		Mr & Mrs I J R Lloyd & Sons	
1993 Horeb Euros		Mr & Mrs R & C Rees	
1994 Nebo Hywel		Mr & Mrs W G Jones	
1995 Gellifach Ap Dafydd		E M V Davies	
1996 Fronarth Welsh Model		Mss Jones Bros & Mr & Mrs G Jones	
1997 Trevallion Giorgio		Nelson Smith	
1998 Ebbw Victor		D R Weeks	
1999 Fronarth Boneddiges		Messrs Jones Bros, Mr & Mrs Gwyn Jones	
2000 Danaway Flashjack		Mr M Attrell	
2001 Foot & Mouth Disease			
2002 Gwynfaes Culhwch		M & D Evans	
2003 Gwenllan Sali	This entry is inscribed twice	D L Davies	
2004 Blaengwen Brenin		Les Davies & Nicola Jones	
2005 Pentrepiod Welsh Flyer		R J Davies & M Cross	
			-

Incorrectly spelt - should be Llamri Jones Family (Fronarth)

Lausanne

2007 Fronarth Model Lady Jones Family (Fronarth)

2008 Trevallion Racheals 100 year centenary Nelson and Dean Smith

2008 The date and name duplicated
 2009 Pennal Brynmor
 2010 Haighmoor Glain
 Nelson Smith
 Mr D Harris
 Mrs J Evans

2011 Batt Family with ABERGAVENNY MORNING QUEEN

2012 Mathias Attrell and Family with DANAWAY CRACKLIN-ROSE

2013 Mr M T Attrell with TREVALLION BLACK-HARRY

From 2014 the engraving is done on elliptical plaques on the wooden plinth

2014 JONES FAMILY FRONARTH SUPER MODEL

2015 DORIAN & MICHELLE LLOYD PERTHOG GWENAN MAI

2016 MRS PHILIPPA OWENS CASCOB BRENIN DAFYDD

2017 MESSRS N. & D. SMITH TREVALLION ROSSANA

2018 MR M. T. ATTRELL DANAWAY CRACKLIN ROSE

2019 D. & M LLOYD Perthog Gwenan Mai

2020, 2021 SHOW CANCELLED Covid 19

2022 J LLOYD & SONS Geler Loti

2006 Llamrie Lausanne

2023 DM, ED & CM Evans Gwynfaes Seren Wledig

2024 CJ Merrick; Brynithon Cleopatra

The information contained in the right hand column above to the right of the vertical line, which is not engraved on the Cup, has been obtained from the books of Dr Wynne Davies MBE, viz Welsh Cob Champions Royal Welsh Show Champion Welsh Cobs Thirty Five years - 1947 - 1982 One Hundred Glorious Years The Welsh Pony and Cob Society. 1901 - 2001, and The Welsh Cob

The following further information may be of interest:-

- 1 There are three duplicates of the engraving namely years 1972 with Parc Rachel, 2003 with Gwenllan Sali and 2008 where the name Nelson Smith is engraved again
- 2 The winner in 1931 was Craven Cymro but as he was not bred in the Principality of Wales, the Cup was awarded to the runner-up Llethi Valiant
- 3 In 1934 Craven Cymro as winner was awarded the Cup although the rules had not yet changed but the new owners were resident in Wales!
- 4 In 1967 Honyton Michael ap Braint won the championship but could also not be awarded the Cup as he was not bred in Wales. The cup was awarded to the runner-up Derwen Rosina
- 5 The inscription on the Cup reads as follows:-

Welsh National Agricultural Society Challenge Cup For Welsh Cobs Presented by George, Prince of Wales Patron 1908

6 The Sterling Silver Cup about 40cm high is Hallmarked with the Maker's Mark (obliterated - but the name Pyke Bros, 138 New Bond Street, London is engraved on the reverse) then the The Quality Mark being the Lion Passant, followed by the Leopard's Head being the Assay Office Mark of London and finally the Date Letter which is the letter i signifying that the Cup was made in 1904-5



Originally published: August 15, 2005

Modified: August 14, 2024